Skip to content

Spring Seedlings

March 29, 2015

Grisha has been busy, so the vegetable garden has fallen to my shoulders. I labeled a lot of paper towel rolls, with little insight into how illegible they would become after multiple waterings. That guarantees either an adventure or a disaster this year.

springseedling1

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I also started some sunflower seeds indoors. Last year, about 4 out of 30 clematis seedlings sprouted. Taking this into account, I started 90 sunflower seeds. All of them have sprouted. Do we dare plant them all outside?

springseedling2

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

 We started with 10 allium bulbs last year. This year 19 sprouted!

springseedling3

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

You might have guessed that my phone is filled with pictures of Oliver. You might not have guessed that it is also filled with pictures of moss. Some of the highlights are below, from left to right: moss in Asheville, moss on a stick and moss in the Open Eye parking lot. You are encouraged to take pictures of moss and send them to me because they always make me smile.

springseedling4

I went to 5th Season to ask them why I can’t keep a certain fern alive despite over-watering it and then under-watering it and then showering with it for several weeks. Where do you think I went wrong? After hearing their thoughts and advice, I bought a bag of dried moss. I planted it alongside the fittonia that Oliver knocked over a few months ago which has been less-than-thriving since.

springseedling5

springseedling6

Now is the time to get in your bets about whether this moss terrarium will survive given my green thumb history outlined above.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

