Skip to content

Unfinished Projects

March 16, 2015

I wanted to share some projects I have not exactly finished yet or that didn’t pan out as planned and never made it past beta testing. I apologize in advance for how many words are below.

“Paper isn’t leather” Inspired by this leather and canvas bind storing screen printed scarves in the SCAD store, I tried to make a similarly mixed-media bin with brown paper bags and linen. We still have it as a home-base for our stapler, but not surprisingly, it’s about as durable as a soggy paper airplane and probably won’t last one humid Carolina summer.

Unfinished1

 

 

“Over-coastered-hostess” Before a barbecue at our house, I compulsively bought a lot of felt and spent too much time cutting it into coasters. The guest to coaster ratio was probably 1:20. But I didn’t just stop there, I took the leftover felt and sewed it to other leftover felt to make a “matching” table runner. The runner was just bumpy enough to make each dish wobble as people tried to serve themselves. Hostess success!Unfinished2

 

 

“Winging out” Last year, I saved several dried out cicada I found while walking Oliver. One day before starting surgery, I tried to delicately cut off the wings with blunt craft scissors, made a mess and lost my fine-motor-confidence. Did you realize that I didn’t say what the wings were for? I still don’t know. Unfinished5

 

 

“Rotten soles” I wore these shoes through and then, naturally modge podged them with fabric. But what you didn’t know is that I then filled them with dirt and tried to plant grass in them. I left them in the front yard, rotting and molding and not growing anything, for over a year before I (or maybe Grisha) tossed them. It looked like we once had a scarecrow who decided to run away but couldn’t make it out of the mud in kitten heels.Unfinished6

 

 

 

“Grilling 101: The Book” The greatest indefinitely-postponed, semi-failure project has been a book my brother and I conceived¬† for my cousins birthday a few years ago. When we were younger, we used to love asking my cousins’ boyfriends questions like, “How many chest hairs to do you?” and “If you could have any tool in the shed, which one would you eat spaghetti with?” To us, these were important questions and we named the process of sitting down a boyfriend and asking him to bare his silly soul “grilling” . We wanted to write a book of some of the questions accompanied by absurdist photography in our very own style of absurdism. We started one day with the question “Where do you fall on the waffle-pancake continuum?” so we naturally made a breakfast spread trying to spell out the word CONTINUUM.

Unfinished4This took place in spring of 2013. That’s how long ago we started and paused this project. Hopefully, sharing it will revive it’s momentum in time for Eitan to visit again for spring break. Cross your syrupy fingers for us!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    March 18, 2015 2:56 am

    My syrupy fingers are definitely crossed! Don’t forget the “best Bond movie” question and correct answer!

  2. Elizabeth Layne permalink
    March 27, 2015 2:26 am

    Mine too! This project definitely needs high priority.

  3. Elizabeth Layne permalink
    March 27, 2015 2:30 am

    oh and was that fabric on the shoes from the stuff Aunt Mary sent me that I sent to you? It seems familiar

Leave a Reply

