Skip to content

Can’t stop sewing

July 22, 2013

pillows1

If you can sew 4 straight-ish lines, then you can sew a throw pillow. I learned this the hard way, which is to say I got a little carried away and sewed 12 throw pillows. Before I knew it, my family was holding an intervention and asking me to stop with the throw pillows. “A house only needs so many throw pillows…” they said. Eitan demonstrated how now when you get off the sofa, there is an inevitable throw-pillow explosion.

pillows2

Trying to break out of my pillow-rut, I made some koozies out of felt. The sewing of the design took some time and burnt some of my sewing energy, but I was itching for more.

coasters1

So I made a pin cushion.

pillows1

Only real seamstresses have pincushions right? With my new pin-cushion-confidence and my pillowless-sewing-fury, I drove to the quilt store where they took one look at me and told me to calm down. So now what?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2013 2:47 pm

    I have so many cushions in my house – they’re so easy yet look so great!

    • July 25, 2013 10:23 am

      Look great and are comfortable! Now that I opened up about my new found love of sewing, some of my friends offered up their pillows to recover so that I don’t have to stop sewing covers just yet. Let the pillow frenzy continue!

  2. July 22, 2013 11:03 pm

    I large hand-pieced quilt with that much energy must be the next step. I’m working on my Granny’s Garden hexagons quilt at the moment – you could join the hexie club with something similar.

    • July 25, 2013 10:19 am

      I was thinking of trying a few different types of blocks (even the intimidating but beautiful hexagons) and then eventually piecing the ones that look good together. Is that plan a quilting no-no (will look bad and possibly crush my quilting confidence)?

      • July 26, 2013 9:07 pm

        Definitely not a no-no. That is what’s known as a sampler quilt.

  3. Elizabeth Layne permalink
    July 26, 2013 10:04 pm

    Abby! When I packed up and moved 1/2-way across our great nation 3 weeks ago, I had my mom (because I had just crashed my bike and torn my ACL) take a HUGE box of fabric and quilting notions I got from Aunt Mary about 10 years ago to a donation center. Argh. If only I had known you’d get this sewing bug! But I still have a few odds and ends from when I had a quilting bug….
    On a totally separate note: Do you have any need for 30 year old barbies?
    Also, if you send me some sewn items I just might send you more crocheted or knitted items. 😉

Leave a Reply

