Skip to content

Back of the envelope calculation: Coffee edition

March 7, 2012

One of the things I remember hearing when I moved to Carrboro was that the tiny town of Carrboro had a higher human-to-coffee-shop ratio than Seattle. There are 35 coffee shops per 100,000 residents in Seattle. This reduces to 0.00035 coffee shops per human. In Carrboro, I would say we have 6 coffee shops (Johnny’s, Open Eye, Looking Glass, Weaver St., Miel Bon Bon, Jesse’s) and a population of 16,782. This amounts to 0.000357 coffee shops per human. According to my highly technical back of the envelope calculation, Carrboro does have more coffee shops per person than Seattle, seven millionths more coffee shop per person to be exact.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2012 2:01 am

    Where’s the photog from? Driade? Open Eye?

  2. March 8, 2012 7:48 pm

    You’re such an insider! It’s from Open Eye. In fact, it was the most delicious dirty chai latte I’ve had. The drink you taught me about!

    But I will say that Open Eye is absurdly crowded these days. It’s officially transitioned into hipster-mainstream. I always make sure the barista knows that I was around in the “good ole days, when Open Eye was a smidge wider than the thrift-store sofas inside and it had a book that patrons wrote and doodled in.” I blame that book for all the crude words I know đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

