Skip to content

Rain, sleet or snow

February 20, 2012

My friend Kenneth gave us a gift certificate to La Residence. In the spirit of Valentines Day, we decided to use it this month. About an hour before our reservation, Grisha asked where the gift certificate was. We spent the next 40 minutes tearing apart our apartment. It was not in the underwear drawer (my first guess), nor in my important-stuff-folder (Grisha’s first guess). We even called Grisha’s folks because the last time we both remembered physically holding the gift certificate was at their house. I canceled the reservation and plopped on the bed in defeat. Moments later Grisha yelled and ran in with the gift certificate in hand. It was in the important-stuff-pile not folder. I immediately remade our reservation. Nothing says high-need-diner like 2 phone calls in 15 minutes.

I decided long ago that I’d wear my wedding dress on this special occasion, because hey, what else am I going to do with it? Well, the dress was super tight. But only in the armpit. How is that even possible?!

It started raining on our drive over, but I didn’t mind because my dress has gotten soaked in the rain before. Miraculously we found some street parking and ran inside (yes Ma, I forgot the umbrella that you reminded me to bring). There was only one other table of guests – thank goodness we made such a big deal out of our reservation. Our meal was delicious, so where was everyone? At home, waiting for the weatherpocalypse, which is Southern for snow. Yessir, when we left it was slippery and snowy and sticking to the ground.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Madeleine permalink
    February 20, 2012 3:43 pm

    Aw! That sounds romantic, even if a scramble at the get-go. Great that you got to wear your wedding dress again!

    My mom and I wanted to get you a joint gift of a night or two at an inn/B&B in either the mountains of NC or near to the coast. (I was thinking you two were more mountain people than beach people, but I could be horrible mistaken!) Originally, we wanted to keep it a surprise but with your and Grisha’s work schedules, I thought it best to consult you directly! Just like a little weekend getaway, you know? At any rate, we should talk or e-mail about this!

    Love, M

Leave a Reply

