Skip to content

Lights, camera, action!

February 17, 2012

I normally use my 3-year-old Canon point-and-shot to take photos, but recently I’ve got the camera bug and I want a new fancy digital SLR. Grisha has a Nikon and all the fixin’s, as we say in the South, from when he studied abroad. But I want something that also does video that we can take on our honeymoon. Specifically, I want to be able to change focus in one shot. I borrowed my dad’s more recent Nikon to see what it felt like to carry around all day and it blew my mind. See that picture of me in the bathroom with horrible lighting? This is what it would look like with my point and click: @#$%^#$!%^&*(. Nonsense.

But as far as Nikon versus Canon, and how far up the bells-and-whistles ladder we should to go, I’m open to suggestions.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alan Liberty permalink
    February 17, 2012 2:15 pm

    The best pictures I ever took were with my 1970’s 35mm Canon SLR. Totally manual non digital, but easy to focus, set the speed and F stop. I think it cost about $250 back then.

    I still have the camera, but I don’t know if anyone makes or develops 35mm film any more.

    You should go to a camera store, I think they still exist, and try out different cameras. Nikon and Cannon are the best.

  2. Amy permalink
    February 21, 2012 6:05 pm

    The Canon 5D is outstanding. It takes color-rich, sharp images and high definition video. Alas, it is also about $3,000, and I think that’s without any lenses. CNET has excellent reviews for electronic equipment. See what their best mid-range cameras are and go to a store to handle those. This will be an exciting purchase!

  3. February 23, 2012 1:16 am

    Based on online reviews, I wanted the Canon Rebel T2i – but several weeks ago Grisha and I went to Best Buy (not exactly a camera shop, I know) and I fell in love with the stepped up version, the Canon Rebel T3i. It just seemed better, sturdier, better built. I don’t plan to zip line with it or anything through – so maybe I should just go for the “cheaper” body, but get 2 lenses? How many pictures do I have to take to justify spending that much money? If you keep recommending $3,000 cameras, I’ll feel like anything under $1,000 is a steal!

Leave a Reply

