Skip to content

Stenciling

January 14, 2012

When my friend Madeleine introduced me to freezer-paper stenciling years ago, she had no idea she empowered me with an endless supply extra-nerdy handmade gifts. Below, a slideshow beginning with the “devolving” Kurt Vonnegut stencil for a t-shirt I made yesterday for my brother-in-law as a belated-Christmas and super early birthday present. I’m also well known in my family for my Levi-Civita, Euler, UCONN and Chaac shirts. Unfortunately, not all of my designs are winners. Grisha politely declined when I wanted to make him a shirt called “Honeymoon indecision 2012, popsicle edition.” And one shirt I made for my brother featuring Stravinsky is commonly mistaken as Hitler. The stencils I used (minus Stravinsky) are below in case you’re ever inspired to make one.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Madeleine Ranges permalink
    January 15, 2012 4:22 pm

    Ha! Nice ones, Ab. I once made a Charlie Chaplin stencil that resembled Hitler. Decided to put the kabosh on that one.

    Actually just unearthed a roll of Freezer Paper while rearranging my room in CT.. among other treasures.

    Read the “Hindsight Bride” blog spot. You are all up in the blogosphere..!!

    • Madeleine Ranges permalink
      January 15, 2012 4:24 pm

      P.S. Does Grisha know any ‘Dzamko’s’ in Bethel? V. possible that I misspelt that name..

      • January 18, 2012 7:11 pm

        He said yes, but not in the biblical or very-close-to-them sense.

      • Madeleine permalink
        January 18, 2012 7:13 pm

        ahha funny. Lev used to work with a Dzamko. Small world (smaller Connecticut).

Leave a Reply

