Skip to content

The Shipping News

November 7, 2011

Last week I finished The Shipping News by Annie Proulx. As my first venture into art and literature about/from/in/inspired by Newfoundland – it was pretty dark. Rather than force Grisha to read the book or listen to me retell the story, I rented the movie and we endeavored to watch it Saturday afternoon. An hour into it, Grisha is overcome by a calling. A calling to go get a new phone. So we pause the film and go to the phone store, where we wait in line behind a chatty ambiguously-British man. Somehow it comes up that Grisha interrupted our viewing of The Shipping News. The maybe-Scottish-maybe-not man says, “Oh, you’re not missing much. I mean, Kevin Spacey? Go do something where you play the same cunning old guy. But don’t get me wrong, I love Proulx.” His rave review uninspired Grisha to finish the movie – especially in light of his new toy, I mean phone.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

