Skip to content

Patriotic Socks

June 19, 2012

As you are probably well aware, we leave for our Newfoundland-honeymoon-adventure in one week! And we’ll be missing one of my favorite holidays while we’re there, the Fourth of July. We won’t let being in Canada on July 4th prevent us from celebrating though. Should we bring a flag? Overkill. Fireworks? Dangerous and most likely illegal. How about American flag socks? Perfect.

I used Inkodye Resist and Dyes to make the stars and stripes. I stuffed a plastic bag into the socks to keep them firm while painting. I applied the resist on a little too thick and then smudged it when I was applying the paint. It was my first experiment with resist and I was really surprised at how well it worked! It doesn’t have to be nearly as thick as I thought and it washes away quickly when you rinse out the dye. I am still struggling the apply the dye evenly, but in my book struggling is a good excuse to try again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2014 10:32 pm

    Hi Abigail,

    What a cute project! I love it so much that I decided to feature it in our roundup of Olympics-inspired crafts! Check it out here: http://www.favecrafts.com/blog/fc/patriotic-crafts-team-usa

    Have a great day!

Trackbacks

  1. Link Love: Crafty Ways To Root For Team USA

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

